Assemble running gear (Part 1) – Drive shafts and CV joint

In anticipation of receiving the fully restored shell, I started assemble necessary suspension components and running gear, so that I will have a rolling shell which make subsequent work a lot easier. Otherwise, I will have to rig up some sort of support to transport and store the shell.

During the last two years of waiting period, I have amassed garage full of parts. It’s finally time to open those boxes. It feels like a second Christmas day. Among the brand new parts I have accumulate is a set of 7.5″ disc brake conversion kit from minispares. It’s straightforward, but with a few tricky steps for someone who hasn’t done this before, such as yours truly.

This post covers a simple step, connecting drive shafts with CV joints.

Tools: boot clam pliers. I picked up a Lisle 30800 CV Boot Clamp Pliers on Amazon for $25. Note, this type of clamp pliers is design for working with following type of strap. You may need different type of tool depending on the type of strap you use. Screen Shot 2016-01-06 at 9.11.13 PM

The existing drive shafts look decent after some degreaser. So I decided to reuse them. The end of drive shaft that joins CV joint has two circlips, one large and one small. The smaller one should be replaced when you install new CV joint. The CV joint that comes with brake conversion kit supplies a new circlip.

IMG_0598.jpg

Next step is to slip the rubber boot onto the shaft. This is tricker than it sounds since the boot needs to go pass the large circlip. I find the easiest way for me is to insert a flat head screw driver into the boots from large opening, then use the screw driver to stretch the small opening until it passes the circlip.

Before mating the CV joint with drive shaft, you need to fill CV joint with general grease. The joints I got came with grease, which saved me some messy work. To connect drive shaft with CV joint, Haynes service manual recommends a two-person method – one compresses the small circlip while the other one carefully use a mallet to hit the end of CV joint until the shaft gets locked inside the joint. However the terse instruction that comes with the CV joint indicates that this can be done by one person without an assistant to compress the circlip. This method does take patience and several tries. But I eventually get it done by myself. Finally, slide on boot straps and tighten them up.

IMG_0632

Have something to say?